Land of the hills (the hills of Flanders)

Eight villages in the outermost southern tip of West Flanders, at the south of Ieper, make up Heuvelland (free translation: ‘Land of the hills’): De Klijte, Dranouter, Kemmel, Loker, Westouter, Wijtschate, Wulvergem and Nieuwkerke. The typical hilly character of the area makes Heuvelland a place of intense natural beauty. It is a succession of magnificent panoramic views, wooded slopes, nature reserves and broad farmlands. Small wonder it’s so calming to come here.

Last weekend we went for a walk…



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: